Ed Sheeran is releasing SUBTRACT!!

A little background of mine: I found Ed from his EP’s ‘loose change’ and ‘songs I wrote with Amy’ which he released with Amy Wadge back in 2010, I heard them, I had them on repeat & I immediately fell in love with his music. From that moment on I’ve been hooked and he’s been a somewhat comfort and crutch throughout my adult life. When ‘+’ came out it was like the start of something new & different, I started my life just as this album started it’s course & I didn’t know where it was going to end up but boy was I excited for the journey. I had felt so attached to his music, almost like they were the soundtrack to my life, each song linked to a memory. I’ve listened to his music now for 13 years, from aged 16 years to 29 (now), and I feel like it’s finally coming full circle.
As silly as it sometimes sounds music really does heal and get you through things, I feel like his music really has stuck by me throughout, got me through some dark patches and helped me enjoy the lighter and brighter times.

Ed Sheeran- SUBTRACT album cover

Subtract releases 05/05/2023 (MAY THIS YEAR) & it’s so exciting! I can’t wait for what could be another mathematics tour in the future (my fingers are crossed because I missed the last one 😭) and a subtract album tour which I need to go to as well!!

I kind of feel his newer releases have been setting up for SUBTRACT, I feel like the new album is going to feature more iconic Ed acoustic & more raw emotion especially from what I’ve gathered from his social media posts and the experiences he’s had especially since lockdown. I really feel like he’s just going to let it all go. This is going to be a seriously powerful album for sure.

For anyone that thinks Ed is rubbish, 42.4 million people disagree, honestly you have to appreciate how well he can express himself the way he does through his music, he’s an absolute genius. He is, without question, one of the greatest singer/songwriters of his generation, he’s had 13 #1 uk hits, sold 150million records worldwide, won 7 Brit awards not to mention his many many other accolades & has somehow managed to squeeze himself into so many genres of musics.

Throughout everything he’s managed to keep true to himself, he hasn’t conformed to Hollywood standards or the celebrity status, he stays humble, he knows where he came from and he’s grateful and passes it on where he can through charities and providing for his family among other things and it’s just so so pure to see and hear.

I for one am super excited and can’t wait to cry, sing & dance to more of his music.

Track listing for his album

Leave a comment